Yin Yang and Yoga

Years ago, I had the opportunity to take the Rorschach inkblot test as part of my company’s management- assessment program. The famed exam is administered by showing a series of cards with randomized inkblots to the test taker and the subject is asked to interpret them. There is no right or wrong answer, but it can be very revealing about personality characteristics and emotional state.

I recall looking over each card with the company proctor and taking my time in providing very vanilla answers. However, I had an immediate visceral reaction to one card in particular and I remember it to this day. In my mind the blot clearly illustrated “two girls with pony tails on a seesaw.” The administrator and I both laughed knowingly after my response.

The word seesaw is derived from the French ci-ca, meaning literally, this-that. I certainly did not need a trained psychologist to tell me why I had interpreted a random drawing so surely and distinctly. At that point in my life, I was a young mother already struggling with how to maneuver through the world of child-care, quality family time, work effort and guilt.

This, that. Push, pull.

I was at the front end of a social phenomenon that remains unabated: work-life balance. Thus it was no surprise that the two girls on the seesaw was a metaphor describing the constant rebalancing challenge I was facing at that time and, like most moms, has continued.

Is it any wonder that so many women seek inner peace through yoga? A 2008 study by Yoga Journal cited that the number of people trying to achieve Zen was nearly 16 million. Most of the devotees are female, searching for a little health, harmony and Pratyahara in their lives.

While I like the general idea of yoga and Lululemon clothing, I found that yoga was not my thing. I attended one hot yoga class and after reaching for a sip of water mid-way through the 90 minute session, the teacher scolded me, “Vinyasa says to withhold earthly pleasure!” I did not return.

For those of us who find dehydration and Gumby poses intimidating, there is the kinder, gentler Asian philosophy of Yin Yang. The Taoist philosophy holds that opposites with polar forces are interdependent and connected and are in a constant state of change and that everything is relative. You can meditate, observe nature or pursue poetry and music. It also encourages self acceptance and being present in the moment. Seems doable to me, I feel my inner-smile already.

I can’t say that any of the sensations of juggling have yielded over the years. While inner-peace may have eluded me, I have learned to accept that motherhood does present itself with a necessary tug. We manage the variables in our control and learn to just let go of the rest for our own sanity.

Carol Lewis Gullstad March 19, 2012

If you would like to subscribe please send an email to permissionslips1@gmail.com or press the subscribe button.

Related articles

Comments

  1. Susan Lopp says:

    Hello Ladies~ Very nice definition of balancing the many trials and tribulations of being a Mom. This post is specifically to Carol. I happened to be reading through my journals the other day and I came across the ones where I was pregnant with my daughter Darby Marie Lopp! Your name came up several times as during that momentous time, you came over once a week (as it worked out with…haha life) and were my mentor for my business Personal Touch Custom Tile. I hope I have jarred your memory because as I recall…we both just LOVED living in that town.
    Carol, I really, really would appreciate if you could contact me. I have a site on facebook called Prayers Darby Marie Lopp, that momentous moment I was having is fighting for her life with every fiber in her being. She got a massive head injury the 2nd of Sep 2012 and has been in a coma here at Sacred Heart in Spokane since. Carol, she was just blossoming into the most beautiful young woman who had high hopes for her life and now the hopes are making it from one day to the next. Mark and I have been divorced for 5 years, it has been really rough on my kids and I. I really am begging you for your support and infinite wisdom as I cope with the unimaginable. My # is 208-553-9828. If you could call or email me at Darby;s site….I would as always be honored~
    Take Care,
    Susan Lopp

Please let us know your thoughts on this post. We love getting messages!

French Notes

notes for French

On Loving Lucy

A father's memoir (in progress)

JenniferCyrFamilyChildCare

My experiences working with young children shared.

8766 Days and Counting!

Let's fall in love with life. :)

welcome tahome

food | drinks | friends | night life | resorts

Mind's Seat

Set your mind on the things above

Linnea Garcia

(Self) Publishing Troubles and Success

Fisticuffs and Shenanigans

It was all fun and games, until the fisticuffs and shenanigans... -Deutschmarc

Jessica L. Arrant

Blogging on Kids and Behavior [and Beyond]

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

JamesRadcliffe.com

James Radcliffe, Musician. Music, Blog, Pictures, Live, News...

jlats2014

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

