Mommy Make-Over

Glamour September 2011 with Rihanna

Glamour September 2011 with Rihanna

Standing in line at the grocery store this weekend, I couldn’t help but be entertained by the headlines on women’s magazine covers that held promises of a better life, or at least a better fall:

 “Update Your Fall Look”

“Kitchen Clutter-Free”

Then there were the general parenting magazine covers that purported to ease family stress:

 “Keep Your Family Safe”

“Make Ahead Meals for Busy Moms”

Finally, if I followed the advice on re-doing my wardrobe and keeping my family safe and fed, I could reward myself with the adult topics offered up women’s fashion magazines:

“The Smile That Gets You What You Want”

“Naughty Thoughts He Has at Work”

“Go Naked”

Whew! All that in five minutes in the checkout line. Although I had not flipped through a single issue and was facing forward in line, I felt a strange tinge of embarrassment looking at the covers. Like driving by a car wreck, you don’t want to look but you can’t look away, either. We all have an attraction to the promise of a “do-over” or fresh start especially when the seasons change. I did, however, find myself wishing for headlines that helped real women:

“Strategies to Reduce Your Workload”

“How to Get Rid of the 1,000 Emails in Your Inbox”

“De-clutter the Weekends: Finish Laundry, Pay Bills and Still Have Free Time”

Recently, when a crisis developed in my own family, I had to drop everything cold turkey. I was stunned when I came back and saw for the first time how ridiculously overloaded I was. Yes, my family has over the past year pleaded with me to “drop something,” but I thought they were being unreasonable and perhaps even selfish in wanting me to do more for them.  I even wrote out a list of all my obligations to prove them wrong. But, it took a week away to get some perspective and finally admit that my “to-dos” were indeed too long.

I pondered how to extricate from this pickle without letting anyone down. Even though a diplomatic exit plan was not in hand I started shouting “Uncle.” My, how freeing it was to say, “I just can’t do it.”  I discovered that people just smiled and said, ‘I understand.” They may not have liked it, but no one worked me over, either. I had taken the first step to becoming a less frazzled mom and a more pleasant person to live with.

I also reconciled that a decent chunk of the task list was in my control. Or, as a friend said yesterday, “Don’t let people ‘should’ on you.” Yes, I was a reliable, stand-up person, but that did not mean I had to have my finger in every pot.

I had initiated my own helpful headline: “Mommy Make-over Now.”

Carol Lewis Gullstad September 19, 2011 

permissionslips1@gmail.com

Please let us know your thoughts on this post. We love getting messages!

French Notes

notes for French

On Loving Lucy

A father's memoir (in progress)

JenniferCyrFamilyChildCare

My experiences working with young children shared.

8766 Days and Counting!

Let's fall in love with life. :)

welcome tahome

food | drinks | friends | night life | resorts

Mind's Seat

Set your mind on the things above

Linnea Garcia

(Self) Publishing Troubles and Success

Fisticuffs and Shenanigans

It was all fun and games, until the fisticuffs and shenanigans... -Deutschmarc

Jessica L. Arrant

Blogging on Kids and Behavior [and Beyond]

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

jlats2014

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

