Packing Up and Letting Go

This Friday, my husband will depart on a weeklong business trip to India, and I can predict how his “To-Do” list will read: “Throw clothes and toiletries into suitcase and zip it shut.”

It’s the same list whether he travels for work (he’s a management consultant with clients and colleagues across the country), school reunions or fly-fishing getaways.

I’m sure he has a host of professional issues to handle before take-off – alerting clients and colleagues to his absence, rescheduling meetings, tackling paperwork and filing expense reports – but he won’t concern himself with matters at home. Here’s what won’t be on his “To-Do” list:

  1. Check the calendar for the kids’ activities, and line up rides to every event;
  2. Discuss upcoming homework assignments and tests, and draw up a schedule for completing all necessary work;
  3. Ensure that the fridge is stocked and meals have been prepared in advance;
  4. Make sure that every stitch of laundry is washed and folded;
  5. Delegate household chores, including feeding pets, watering plants, taking out garbage and retrieving mail;
  6. And on and on…

 You’ve probably guessed by now that the above items always occupy my pre-vacation “To-Do” lists. When the kids were younger, I shudder to recall, I even laid out their outfits for the week (Heaven forbid they should attend preschool in clashing colors).

Because of my husband’s travel schedule – often Monday–Friday when the children were little – I always felt over-taxed and hyper-stressed. Back then, when I was still trying to hold on to my “outside the home” job, the only way I could hold it all together was through organizational skills….or, as my husband probably felt, micromanagement.

Back then, on the rare occasions that I traveled for work or fun, I hired extra sitters and called in favors with friends; I was careful not to add to my husband’s load. I always felt guilty about leaving home, and wanted to ensure that my absence didn’t impact the family. I also wanted to prevent mayhem from ensuing, so I would have “permission” to take off again.

However, I now realize that when I traveled – either for work or for pleasure – I tried to run the family show from afar. I also recognize that in so doing, I denied my husband the chance to rise to the occasion, to gain confidence in his parenting skills and to manage the household his own way. 

So now, instead of begrudging my husband’s lack of attention to household matters, I’m going to steal a page from his book. I need to appreciate his faith in my parenting abilities, and reciprocate that confidence. Next time I prepare for a trip, I’ll focus on letting go when I’m packing up:

1. I’ll remind my husband where the calendar is kept, and insist the kids manage their own schedules. If they miss something, they can make it up later, or suffer the consequences.

2. I will let the kids worry about their own homework. If they need help, they can ask their dad, call a friend or schedule a meeting with the teacher. If they forget to study for a test, the results will reinforce the need for preparation.

3. I will buy groceries as usual, but I won’t cook and freeze meals ahead of time. The kids all know how to make Top Ramen and Mac ’N’ Cheese, and, as I recall, my husband has a few tasty dishes up his sleeve (he used one to woo me back in the day…).  Besides, no one ever contracted scurvy from one week of pizza and take-out Chinese food.

4. I’ll tell each teen that if his beloved DMB T-shirt isn’t clean, he can dig for alternatives…or run the washer himself.

5. I’ll remember that even if the plants dry out, the mail clogs the box and the cat resorts to catching mice and drinking from the toilet, the house will still be standing when I return.

When my husband zips up his suitcase and grabs his passport this Friday morning, I won’t make any cutting remarks about his trip preparations. I resolve to smile, kiss him good-bye… and start making plans for my next getaway. And this time, I’ll remember my own “To-Don’t” list!

— Linda Williams Rorem, 3 Jan. 2011

Comments

  1. Love this–so, so true. I am thrilled that next week I am taking a “girlfriends’ getaway” for my 50th birthday with my mom and sister up to Canyon Ranch in the Berkshires. It’s more than 30 minutes, but still drivable. Even though it’s much easier than when the kids were little, I know I will be making up the schedules and to-do lists–but at least I won’t be making any meals ahead of time or worrying about homework. I do truly worry about whether the dog will get fed and walked, but she can at least bark for herself! Great blog!

  2. Kathy COOKE says:

    Hi Linda! I enjoyed reading your packing up and letting go article… so true!!
    Being a mom of 3 boys, my guys love to have weekends with just dad…

    I wish you all the best with your business. You’re a great writer! (:

    Blessings,
    Kathy

  3. Ellen Whitford says:

    None of this applies to me in the least, and yet I found myself reading it all the way to the end — and happy for the chance to do that. And that, my dear, is the sign of a fun read.

Please let us know your thoughts on this post. We love getting messages!

French Notes

notes for French

On Loving Lucy

A father's memoir (in progress)

JenniferCyrFamilyChildCare

My experiences working with young children shared.

8766 Days and Counting!

Let's fall in love with life. :)

welcome tahome

food | drinks | friends | night life | resorts

Mind's Seat

Set your mind on the things above

Linnea Garcia

(Self) Publishing Troubles and Success

Fisticuffs and Shenanigans

It was all fun and games, until the fisticuffs and shenanigans... -Deutschmarc

Jessica L. Arrant

Blogging on Kids and Behavior [and Beyond]

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

jlats2014

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

