The LBR (Little Black Raincoat)

The stalwart wardrobe staple “LBD” (aka little black dress) can be found in almost every woman’s closet.

But did you know that there is a must have equivalent for every woman’s packing list? When planning a getaway every mom should have a LBR – Little Black Raincoat. You can rarely go wrong having it in your suitcase. Even if you are 100% positive that you will not need it at your destination it doubles as a blanket for the plane, car ride or train. An incredibly versatile article of clothing – you don’t even need to live in Seattle, like I do, to make use of it.

The LBR has many requirements though to properly fulfill its mission. It must be foldable without wrinkling. It must be water repellant not water-resistant. It must have a removable lining. A zip or button on hood is a plus and it must be classic yet flattering. If all these criteria are met you will get years of use out of your LBR.

This fall I set out to find a replacement for my LBR that was being sent to a favorite consignment shop, The Dollhouse in Ketchum, Idaho. Knowing the high utility my LBR would receive, it had to be a thoughtful search.  I began looking to get a feel for what was “out there” in price and style. My effort was initiated on-line and I ordered three coats to try on at home. I even, gasp, ordered a platinum grey coat to see if that would work. I discovered however that grey is for rainy skies – grey is not the new black when it comes to a LBR.  None of the coats worked for fit, weight, or style and I sent them all back.

For my next effort I enlisted the services of Michael and Calvin – Michael Kors and Calvin Klein. But, I had to hoof it to department stores and discount stores in round two.  I, once again came home with three “nominees.” One of the coats was a super cute, fashion forward, shiny patent leather slicker purchased from the Rack. It had no lining and would probably be out of style soon but I wanted it to work. I was violating the criteria list big time – proof that even a “professional” can get seduced by a beautiful piece of clothing. The patent leather coat was reluctantly returned – someone else would be enjoying the one season wonder.

I got word a few days ago that my old black raincoat had sold. It was a done deal and now I had to choose a new LBR. Finally, after modeling options for a friend, I settled on one from Nordstrom. It did not have a hood and I was disappointed by this but it fit all the other criteria exceedingly well. Mission accomplished – just in time for the rain.

Carol Lewis Gullstad, November 14, 2010

Comments

  1. I am n ow on a mission to find my LBR….. You are so right, it is handy for more than rain protection. Thanks for the mommy travel tip

Please let us know your thoughts on this post. We love getting messages!

French Notes

notes for French

On Loving Lucy

A father's memoir (in progress)

JenniferCyrFamilyChildCare

My experiences working with young children shared.

8766 Days and Counting!

Let's fall in love with life. :)

welcome tahome

food | drinks | friends | night life | resorts

Mind's Seat

Set your mind on the things above

Linnea Garcia

(Self) Publishing Troubles and Success

Fisticuffs and Shenanigans

It was all fun and games, until the fisticuffs and shenanigans... -Deutschmarc

Jessica L. Arrant

Blogging on Kids and Behavior [and Beyond]

cancer killing recipe

Just another WordPress.com site

JamesRadcliffe.com

James Radcliffe, Musician. Music, Blog, Pictures, Live, News...

jlats2014

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

